My code vs solution code

Beginner here just trying to get some supplemental follow up info of the differences in code. My code just used a less than statement rather than the greater than equals and then used puts rather than return for the output. I tested it by adding a 4th check where I inverted hello and world and the output was still correct. Is there any benefit or draw back using either way to write the code?

My code:

def longer_string(str1, str2)
  if str1.length < str2.length
    puts str2
  else
    puts str1
  end
end

puts longer_string("app", "academy") # => "academy"
puts longer_string("summer", "fall") # => "summer"
puts longer_string("hello", "world")# => "hello"
puts longer_string("world", "hello")# => "world"

Solution code

def longer_string(str1, str2)
  if str1.length >= str2.length
    return str1
  else
    return str2
  end
end

puts longer_string("app", "academy") # => "academy"
puts longer_string("summer", "fall") # => "summer"
puts longer_string("hello", "world") # => "hello"

Well I found this article https://learn.co/lessons/puts-print-and-return-readme
it goes over the differences in puts, print, and return. I am just not totally sure how it applies to my code though lol

TL;DR

The main difference between your implementation is that you’re not actually returning the string, but only printing it to the screen. If the end goal is to return a value, then you should use the “return” keyword instead of puts.

LONG VERSION

The article you linked to explains that when you don’t use the keyword “return” followed by what you want to return, Ruby will the last thing that was evaluated. In your case, the last thing evaluated is a puts statement which evaluates to “nil.”