My code behaves different between repl.it and bundle exec rspec - why and what can I do?

This is regarding the Enumerable Exercise, for_cs_sake(string) problem.

I got the array of the words with C in both cases: [“sticker”, “ack”, “lock”].

After sorting by c_distance(word), in repl.it the array becomes [“ack”, “lock”, “sticker”] so the answer is “ack”.

However in bundle exec rspec after sort the array becomes [“lock”, “ack”, “sticker”] and it returns the answer as “lock”.

The code is exactly the same but it gives me 2 different results 2 different environments. Why and what can I do?

Thanks,
Barbara

I’d have to look at your code and the spec file to see exactly why it’s giving two different results.

I’m a student myself, but --if it matters–most of the feedback I’ve gotten from AA staff so far seems to indicate that passing the RSPEC tests takes priority, so I guess you need to look at the spec file and see why it’s returning the result it is.

I will say that I’m finding it incredibly frustrating that --unless I missed a chapter somewhere-- we’re basically expected to be fully fluent in RSPEC without ever having received any substantial instruction in how it works.

1 Like

Here is my code for that part of the exercise. Run it in rspec. Run it it repl.it. They give different results! :tired_face: Put some “puts” to see the arrays before and after the sort. They sort differently!

def for_cs_sake(string)
words = remove_punctuation(string).split
closest_c_words = “”

closest_c_words = words.select {|word| word.include?(“c”)}
closest_c_words.sort_by! {|word| c_distance(word)}
closest_c_words[0]
end

def c_distance(word)
word.downcase.reverse.index(“c”)
end

def remove_punctuation(string)
string.gsub(/[^a-z0-9\s]/i, ‘’)
end

I believe you. RSPEC apparently interprets some Ruby commands differently than repl.it does…good to know, I guess.