How to use Terminal to test exercises after setting up environment

Hi team,

We were using repl.it during Jumpstart so I’m new to using Terminal to test code after editing it in Atom.

I have downloaded the Methods Exercises folder that can be accessed using this link: https://www.aaonline.io/alpha-curriculum/2.0/methods-exercises

I have a good conceptual understanding of rspec and the reason we are using it but I need help with the first steps. The folder mentioned above includes a lib subfolder with the rb file for my work and a spec subfolder for testing. Any (dummy proof) help would be appreciated!

Thank you!

1. Click download link to download archived project folder
  2. Open the folder in Finder (on Chrome I like to click the arrow next to the downloaded folder and click “Show in Finder”)
  3. Double click the archive folder to extract the contents in the current directory
  4. Open the Terminal application
  5. Make sure the Terminal application is pinned to your dock for easy access by right clicking it in your dock and selecting Options > “Keep In Dock”
  6. Drag the newly extracted folder from Finder down to your dock and drop it onto the Terminal application (this is an easy way to change directory into that folder!)
  7. Run the bundle install command to install the gems specified by the Gemfile
  8. Run thebundle exec rspec --color command to run your tests
  9. Run the atom . command to open up the current directory in the atom text editor
  10. Open the lib folder and write the code to pass the specs (Yay we are programmers!)
  11. Return to the Terminal and run the specs again until everything is passing

Let me know if this helps!

Kevin, you hit the nail on the head. That was perfect.
Thank you very much!

Just follow up.
I found this error message on my setup.
Anyone can help?