App Academy

Completely New to Coding. Would love some advice!

Hello everyone!
My name is McKenzie and I have recently graduated from college with a degree in Psychology. After discovering coding from a friend who has completed the App Academy program, I became very interested and made it a goal of mine to be accepted into the program!

I’ve completed the introductory course, took many notes and thought for sure I understood everything. I even went on over to CodeAcademy and took their Ruby course. However, once I got to the practice problems I felt completely lost and I am unsure where to even start. If there is anyone that would be willing to walk me through one of the practice problems or lend me some advice to a beginner, it would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you!
McKenzie

I’m completely new to coding too. I’ve been taking things really slowly and it’s been helping. When it comes to solving problems, I would read the required readings that has to do with that section in the the morning and then try to tackle the problems in the afternoon. Usually give it a day or three per exercise. If i have questions, then I just ask on the message board. Figured I was rushing too fast so took a 360, stopped at Tic tac toe and redid the first few exercises and now I’m on rspec 4… and it’s almost as hard as when I first did them but now i have a general feel to solving it. Also look into the Odin Project; it’s a free online web development course that is almost the same as the prep work (like 90%) plus additional readings.

Hi McKenzie,

I just left you a response here. But just in case you didn’t see it, here it is again (you’ll see that it echoes many of the things that Garick is saying above):